My Luxurious Bath Series: Product Review: Lush Dark Angels Cleanser

12 Nov

Hey y’all,

So we are on a journey. A journey through my luxurious bath. I know it sounds corny but what can you do, really?

We have now applied the TRESemme shampoo and left it to seep in for some time. We now have to cleanse our skin. What better to use than my recent favorite Lush Dark Angels Cleanser.

Read on to know more…


Pardon the dirty paper. My bathroom stand is made of steel that is rusted at some places.

Price: Rs. 812 for 116g

What the website says:

Dark Angels is the nemesis of all blemishes, breakouts and blocked pores. Our soft black scrub was conceived when we combined the exfoliating power of Angels on Bare Skin and the sebum balancing abilities of Coal Face. The result? A velvety cleanser, sprinkled with black sugar and powdered charcoal to gently exfoliate and cleanse away excess oils. We add antimicrobial rhassoul mud and vitamin-rich cold pressed organic avocado oil to soften, moisturize and nourish skin, as well as sandalwood and rosewood oils to soothe.


  • Ideal for young faces: Dark Angels is beneficial for those experiencing excess oil and blemishes.
  • Scrub me tender: Gently exfoliates away dead skin for a smoother, brighter looking face.
  • All part of the fun: We recommend using this one in the shower, as it can get quite messy!


Sorry about this pic. I wanted to click the texture but it turned out to be too dark. Used flash and the result is this.


Rhassoul Mud, Cold Pressed Avocado Oil (Persea gratissima), Glycerine, Powdered Charcoal, Black Sugar (sucrose), Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Perfume, *Linalool, Sandalwood Oil (Santalum album), Rosewood oil (Aniba rosaeodora)

How to use:

Dampen your face with warm water. Place a pea-sized chunk in the palm of your hand and add water to create a paste. Apply to your face using small, circular motions. Rinse thoroughly and pat dry. For rest results follow with the LUSH toner and moisturizer that best suit your skin type. Your cleanser will remain fresh for up to three months. Always check the expiration date on your product.


My experience:

I love love love love this one! My favorite cleanser ever! I use it everyday. Sometimes twice! The texture is like a scrub. It provides gentle exfoliation which is exactly what I need. I stopped using any of my other cleansers except for one (which you will see next).

It has a smell that is so unique and weird that I love it more! It is probably the charcoal with the other ingredients that causes this. Some people might find it over powering. I don’t. You need to be a little careful because it does get messy.

When I bought this, the Lush SA told me this was perfect for my kinda skin which is oily in the summer and combination in winters. And so far, it is. I will see how it fares in the winters. It might feel too drying. He also said it will help with the tan which was what I was looking for at the time. It has worked for the tan too. He asked me not to use wet fingers to take the product out. I use a spatula from an old bleach that had expired and I threw away. This helps keep the texture intact.

My journey in the Luxurious Bath:

With the hair shampooed, I proceeded to use the cleanser as directed. I also applied the remaining product in my palms after scrubbing on to my fingers and arms. Scrubbed for a while and washed it off. I now have clean smooth skin and I am ready for my next step.

Final word:

Hey look! Nail art!


I recommend this product HIGHLY to anyone who has oily skin and needs help with blackhead removal or tan. It works. I do not find it too expensive for what it delivers. Very little product is needed for the whole face. I also use it on my hands especially my fingers.

Rating: 5/5 Love it!

Take care,

~ JC :)

Other posts in the Bath Series:

My Luxurious Bath Series: Product Review: TRESemme Salon Silk Moisture Shampoo

My Luxurious Bath Series: Product Review: Clinique anti-blemish solutions – cleansing foam

My Luxurious Bath Series: Product Review: L’ORÉAL PARIS Total Repair 5 Total Repairing Masque

2 Responses to “My Luxurious Bath Series: Product Review: Lush Dark Angels Cleanser”

  1. future garage November 16, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Great info and superbly written. Keep up the fantastic stuff!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,604 other followers

